MARYLAND

MARYLAND

Maryland Requirements:

If your license expires on or after October 1, 2016 all licensees will be required to complete 3 hours of MREC- Brokerage Relationship and Disclosure 3 hours.  Brokers, Branch Managers and Team Leaders will be required to complete 3 hours of MREC Supervision. The total number of clock hours will not increase. They will remain at 15 hours, but it will consist of 10.5 hours mandatory for salespersons and 13.5 mandatory for brokers, branch office managers and team leaders every renewal period. 

Mandatory Hours to include:

* Real Estate Legislative Update — 3 hours

*Maryland Fair Housing — 1.5 hours **(NOTE: Licensees who only do commercial transactions may take Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

*Maryland Code of Ethics, Flipping & Predatory Lending— 3 hours 

*MREC Brokerage Relationship and Disclosure or MREC – Commercial – 3 hours

*MREC Supervision – 3 hours (for brokers, branch office managers & team leaders)

WASHINGTON, D.C.

All Washington, DC licensees are required to complete 15 hours continuing education in order to renew their real estate license: 9 Mandatory Hours to include:

* DC Ethics — 3 hours 

* DC Legislative Update — 3 hours

* Fair Housing — 3 hours

6 Elective Hours:

Most Maryland courses offered by Dias Real Estate Academy can be processed as elective credit in DC.

VIRGINIA

VIRGINIA

NEW Virginia Requirement:

All Virginia licensees who renew their license after December 31 must complete a board approved Legislative Update (LU) course that includes flood instructions to renew their licenses. Lists of all approved education providers and CE courses can be accessed by clicking on Education and Exams tab on the Boards website at: http/www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Real-Estate/. Please contact the Board’s Education Section at 804-367-2406 or reschool@dpor.virginia.gov with any questions. 

Virginia licensees who have earned their license since January 1, 2004 must complete 30 hours of continuing education prior to the first renewal of their license. Licensees may choose one of the following tracks to their mandatory hours: 1) residential real estate, 2) commercial real estate or 3) property management. Failure to complete the 30 hour curriculum shall result in the non-renewal of the license until the curriculum is completed. The Virginia General Assembly created a 30 hour education requirement for new licensees to complete within their first two years after receiving a license. Virginia licensees whose license expires after July 1, 2004, are required to complete 16 hours of continuing education to renew their real estate license as follows: 8 Mandatory Hours to include:

– Ethics — 3 hours

– Fair Housing — 2 hours

– Legal Updates, Real Estate Agency and Real Estate  Contracts — 3 hours.

8 Elective Hours: These may include any of the following courses offered by the Dias Real Estate Academy which can be processed as elective credit in VA.

*Foreclosure/Foreclosure Law – 3 hours

*Short Sales Basics – 3 hours

*Legal Updates with Flood Content – 3 hours

 

Brokers whose license expires on or after July 1, 2008 are required to complete an additional 8 hours, for a total of 24 hours.

*In addition to the regular courses requirements listed above, all licensees are required to take a one-time   2-hour course on Limited Service Agencies, .

 

NEW Requirement.  All new applicants for a Virginia real estate license must provide fingerprints for a Virginia criminal background check.